2023: Sheriff Oborevwori Emerges Winner Of Delta PDP Governorship Primary

2023: Sheriff Oborevwori Emerges Winner Of Delta PDP Governorship Primary

The Speaker of the Delta State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon Sheriff Oborevwori has won the primary election of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the State.

The speaker secured 597 votes out of total 824 ballots cast by delegates at the PDP primaries held on Wednesday, May 25, at Asaba, to emerge the gubernatorial standard-bearer of the party for the 2023 general elections.

Oborevwori, the professed preferred candidate of the governor, Senator Ifeanyi Okowa, surpassed Olorogun David Edevbie, the favorite governorship nominee of ex-governor, Chief James Ibori, who scored 113 votes to the second position.

Okowa, who evidenced that he is in-charge of affairs in the party with the outcome, wore a big smile as Chairman of the Electoral Panel, Mr. Ndibusi Nwobu, announced Sheriff as the duly elected candidate of the party with 625 votes, but Ibori and his successor, former governor, Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan, stayed away from the primaries.

On his part, Oborevwori could not contain his ecstasy as he shook hands with other aspirants and delegates, who cheered him when he was pronounced as winner, Edevbie obviously disheartened by the voting pattern left before the end of the polls.

Declaring Oborevwori as winner of the primary election, Chairman of the panel, Mr. Ndubusi Nwobu said David Edevbie scored 113, Olorogun Kenneth Gbagi, zero votes, Chief Fred Majemite six votes, Senator James Manager, 83 votes, Barr Peter Mrakpor, 9 votes, Deacon Kingsley Otuaro, 9 votes, Rt. Hon Sheriff Oborevwori, 597 votes, Mr. Abel Esievo, two votes and Chief Ejaife Odebala, 2 votes.

Related Post  BREAKING: APC presidential primary: ‘I will not step down for anyone’ – Tunde Bakare

Nwobu described the election as a family affair, adding that the primary election was not the end. He said the election was free and fair.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here