BREAKING: After two years, nine #EndSARS protesters regain their freedom.

BREAKING: After two years, nine #EndSARS protesters regain their freedom.

According to recent reports, nine people who were detained and arrested in connection with the 2020 #EndSARS demonstration were apparently released on Tuesday.
According to a story in Thisweekng, activist and Take It Back (TIB) Movement leader Solomon Emiola confirmed the nine inmates’ release from the Oyo Agodi Prison.

According to information obtained, Emiola and his movement, who have been campaigning against the release of the nine demonstrators from the Oyo prison, told Punch that they had just returned from the facility while the protesters had left for their homes and families.

It was learnt that their release was against the backdrop of the call by Oyo State Chief Judge, Justice Munga Abimbola who ordered the release of 58 detainees who had spent long periods in the state prisons.

Justice Abimbola on Monday declared that prolonged detention was a breach of people’s constitutional rights, reiterating that the stand of the law is that a “person is presumed innocent until proven guilty.”

As part of a three-day tour to the state’s prisons, the CJ made this remark in the Agodi Custodial Centre of the Nigerian Correctional Service.

Adeshina Muyiwa, Ikechuckwu Eze, Ariyo Sodiq, Ikenna Amaechi, Oyewole Olumide, Ariyo Afeez, Taoreed Abiodun, Adekunle Moruf, and Rasheed Tiamiyu are among the nine protesters whose names have reportedly been made public.

According to reports, the demonstrators were accused of crimes related to the 2020 demonstration against the disbanded Special Anti-Robbery Squad unit of the Nigerian Force, including murder, the theft of police guns, and setting a police station on fire.

Related Post  Ghanaian Christian Atsu found dead in rubble of Turkey earthquake



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here