INEC Reveals Date Supplementary Elections Will Be Conducted

INEC Reveals Date Supplementary Elections Will Be Conducted

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has said supplementary elections in some states will be conducted when the delimitation details of the constituencies involved are available.

National Commissioner in charge of Information and Voter Education, Festus Okoye, stated that the Commission was determined to conclude the supplementary elections.

Speaking with The Nation on Thursday, Okoye said the electoral umpire may take a decision on when to conduct the supplementary elections in 13 states on Saturday, March 25.

He said: “The commission may take a decision on Saturday on the exact date for the conduct of supplementary elections.

“We must first harvest the delimitation details of all the places where supplementary elections have been indicated. We have elections in Plateau, Imo, Anambra, Kebbi, Adamawa, Sokoto and other places.

“We are determined to conclude the supplementary elections as soon as possible.

“However, we must print the ballot papers for the areas. We must assemble the staff that will run the election. We must engage the transporters to move materials and the staff.

“More importantly, we must put together the funds for the supplementary elections. All these will be possible when the delimitation details are available.”

Naija News reports that the states where senatorial elections will hold are Kebbi (North), Plateau (Central), Yobe (South), Zamfara (Central), and Sokoto (East, North, and South).

Also, supplementary elections will hold in two Federal Constituencies in Akwa Ibom (Abak/Etim Ekpo/Ika and Ikono/Ini), Edo (Orhionmwon/Uhunmwode), Imo (Ikeduru/Mbaitoli and Isu/Njaba/Nkwere/Nwangele), Kano (Doguwa/Tudun Wada and Fagge).

Elections will take place in Kebbi (Arewa/Dandi and Koko/Besse/Maiyoma), Oyo (Ibadan North East/Ibadan South East and Oluyole), Rivers (Gokana/Khana and Port Harcourt II), Zamfara (Gummi/Bukkuyum and Gusau/Tsafe), Taraba (Takum/Donga/Ussa), Kogi (Bassa/Dekina), Jigawa (Gumel/Maigatari/Sule Tankarkar/Gagarawa), Ebonyi (Ezza North/Ishielu), Bayelsa (Southern Ijaw) and Anambra (Igbaru).

Related Post  Rotimi Amaechi, has denied reports that he is contesting for the 2023 presidential election.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here